Updates

July 31, 2007

I spent the last week and a bit replacing the XML parser. REXML proved to be too slow, and it’s replacement (libxml-ruby) is faring much better. For example, the searches that used to average ~4secs now take about 1! I’m also rewriting the item model and most of the javascript dealing with it. That should fix the unclickable recommendations as well as allow for a whole host of features like wishlist, Listmania, and my new feature: personal lists! But I get ahead of myself. Just a couple days more…

2 Responses to “Updates”

  1. JRice Says:

    …Have you considered using why’s hpricot for the XML parsing?

    A co-worker just started using, claiming that it blew rexml off the map, speed wise.

    [shrug] Just a thought. I hadn’t considered it because it was a “web scraper”, but I guess it fares quite well.

  2. Derek Says:

    yup, i did; our choice was either libxml-ruby or hpricot . libxml won for completely arbitrary reasons. I’m not sure which one of those two is strictly better, but so far, libxml has beat the pants off of REXML.


Leave a comment