alpha

July 10, 2007

After weeks of procrastinating and tweaking, I’ve finally decided to just launch uncluttr as an alpha.

These things works:

  • searching/browsing for stuff
  • searching/browing for stuff in a specific category
  • adding products to the cart
  • browsing reviews
  • viewing more information about an item
  • proceeding to checkout
  • linking to a list of items

That said, there are still a lot of bugs, such as:

  • search pagination is broken
  • you can’t yet add ‘You May Like’ items to the cart
  • customer info lookup doesn’t work
  • help/FAQ needs flushing out
  • no support for products not fulfilled by Amazon
  • annoying widget behavior (like dropdowns not going away, etc.)

And these are the things in progress:

  • fixing everything listed above
  • wishlist/registry support
  • more product categories
  • international Amazon.com stores

5 Responses to “alpha”

  1. Bill Guindon Says:

    It’s quite impressive, and very clean (and works well in Mozilla 1.7.13).

    I would be nice if the images had ‘tooltips’ on them, as you can’t always read the title.

  2. David Says:

    You should check out Library Thing. http://www.librarything.com/ Amazon has made attempts to track what products you have purchased, but what about the books that you read from the library? Rather than to just rehash Amazon’s functionality, it would be neat to tweak it even more into more of a social networking site… not just a bookstore. (I’m sure that you will find that you’ll sell more books that way… take a look at all of the book clubs around the country)

    Good luck! I love what you have done so far!

  3. tsubasa Says:

    Looks really good )
    Can you tell how much time have you spent on making this? I’m very interested )
    Thanks.

  4. Derek Says:

    Thanks all,

    I’ve been working on uncluttr just in my free time. What that translates to is a couple hours every couple of evenings for several months now. If I were to think of it as a day job, I would estimate that I’ve spent about a month on it.

    It’s strange though, that most of the time isn’t spent so much on coding, but thinking about how best to integrate and present the different features cleanly. There is so much temptation to add cluttering information…

    I had tool tips at one point, but I kinda found them annoying. I should really just make that toggle-able feature since it seems like something that people are criticizing (especially when multiple versions of an item look identical in the picture). I’ll add that one to the list.

    Derek

  5. Kome Says:

    cool webservice,

    very simple and clean, i like it very much!

    good luck with future developpments


Leave a comment